Cathedrals will fall, the river will run red... and THE BIRD will be SLAUGHTERED!

BOOK REVIEW: The Order Of The Dragon

– By Dave Dubrow

The first in a trilogy of novels by Australian author Phil Hore, The Order of the Dragon introduces us to two very different characters: the learned, dryly humorous Amun Galeus, and his hulking friend Sebastian Vulk. While this might sound like standard bickering buddies fare, the novel doesn’t descend into cliché: it’s a fun, pulp horror piece that starts off slow, but once it hits its stride, rockets like a freight train. Fans of Mark Frost’s The List of Seven and The Six Messiahs will find a great deal to like in The Order of the Dragon.

The order of the DRAGOB FINAL GOOD COVER ART FOR CREATESPACEIt would be a terrible disservice to the reader to divulge too much about the story, as the author takes great pains to reveal only a little at a time, keeping you on edge and telling yourself that you’ll just finish this chapter and go to sleep…until you’re reading the next chapter, too. And the one after that. We do know that Amun, the protagonist, is unimaginably old, but the nature and origin of his character remain mysterious. He only tells you what he thinks you should know, not what you want to know, which can be maddening at times. Vulk is a simpler figure, but no less interesting for that; I wish there were a bit more of him in the story.

The author’s knowledge of late 19th century London is both obvious and effortless, putting you right in the middle of the setting without taking you out of it with anachronism or excessive detail. Arthur Conan Doyle and Bram Stoker become important characters, which is a nice, amusing touch, though their contributions are somewhat diluted by the sheer size of the cast. Astute readers will appreciate the addition of other historical figures as cameos.

There’s a great deal of action, not to mention blood, with enough swordfights and gunplay to fill three novels, let alone one. Elements of whodunit and why are sprinkled evenly throughout, deepening the mystery. The Order of the Dragon is a fun start to what promises to be an exciting new series, and I’m looking forward to the second book.

@davedauthor

 

3 Responses to BOOK REVIEW: The Order Of The Dragon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Slaughtered Bird Films’ BURN receives its first reviews!
Burn Slaughtered Bird Films and Dragon Egg Media’s debut film collaboration, Burn, has received its first couple of online reviews, after a preview screening at the Triple Six Horror Festival in Manchester, May 27th. Read on...
INTERVIEW: David Naughton
untitled It’s not every day you get to speak to the lead actor in possibly your favourite horror film of all time. Especially on a Tuesday. Tuesdays are usually rubbish! David Naughton should need no introduction to horror fans. Back in 1981, An American Werewolf In London had unprepared cinema goers laughing heartily one second and jumping out of their seats in terror the next. Its tale of two young American tourists coming face-to-teeth with a legendary lycanthropic beast perfectly married a genuinely funny script with razor sharp editing, groundbreaking special effects and a flawless cast to create a monster movie that is still many people’s benchmark today Read on...
Advertise HERE!
CQJR7SyWwAADBd_ We currently have advertising space available at very reasonable rates, so if you have a product you want to let people know about then please email us at theslaughteredbird@gmail.com with your needs and we can give you more info. Read on...